A DUI charge is never a small matter and this is especially true for Georgia drivers under 21. The penalties are more severe for drivers under the age of 21 than for older Georgia drivers.
A Georgia DUI under 21 is very serious and the punishment under the law reflects this severity. Where a BAC of .08 grams is the typical mark for determining DUI for drivers over 21, drivers under 21 face a limit of .02 grams. You could face 12 months probation, a fine not less than $300 but no more than $1000, 40 hours of community service, attend Drug & Alcohol Classes and DUI Risk Reduction School.
In addition to the penalties mentioned above, a person under 21 years old charged with DUI, will also face license suspension of at least 6 months and possibly 12 months. The punishment for DUI, if you are under 21, is strict in Georgia. There are certain scenarios where a 6 month suspension is the best a young driver can hope for if convicted of DUI. If your BAC is greater than .02 grams and less than .08, if no state-administered test was requested, or if your test is suppressed at trial you are looking at least a 6 month license suspension. However, if you are found to have a BAC of greater than .08 grams or you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you will face a mandatory 12 month license suspension.
Georgia law treats DUI under 21 as a serious matter that can have profound consequences for young Georgians. This makes it very important to make sure you are advised of your rights and obligations under the law when facing a DUI charge. By consulting a knowledgeable DUI lawyer in the North Georgia and Hall County area, you can help provide yourself with the best possible defense to protect both your license and your future from the damage a DUI conviction can cause.
About the attorney: Anne Bishop is a Georgia Lawyer with A. Bishop Law in Gainesville, Georgia and handles various DUI / DWI, Marijuana Arrests and other Georgia Criminal Defense matters. The law office of A. Bishop Law can assist clients throughout Georgia including: Hall County (Gainesville, Oakwood, Flowery Branch), Jackson County (Jefferson, Braselton) White County (Helen, Cleveland), Lumpkin County (Dahlonega), Dawson County (Dawsonville), Habersham County (Demorest, Cornelia), and all of Northeast Georgia.
This article and/or video should not be considered nor relied upon as legal advice since it is only intended for general overview and informational purposes. Please consult with an attorney on your specific situation in order to determine an appropriate legal course of action.